WPIAL secures 14th place in All-State 4A football team; Aliquippa wins the best player and coach award


Wednesday, December 29, 2021 | 10:00 AM

If Tiqwai Hayes’ next three seasons look like his first, Aliquippa’s freshman has an exciting future ahead of him.

Hayes, who has run for 1,746 yards and scored 23 touchdowns this season, was named the State’s Class 4A Player of the Year on Wednesday after leading the Quips to a PIAA title earlier this month. Hayes was one of eight Aliquippa players to win all-state honors, and Quips’ Mike Warfield was named 4A coach of the year.

Aliquippa (13-1) won the WPIAL and PIAA titles despite three rankings above his Class A entry.

Teammates Naquan Crowder, Tyrese Jones, Jason McBride, Cameron Lindsey, Brandon Banks, Donovan Walker and Cyair Clark join Hayes in the All-State squad.

In total, the WPIAL had 14 players recognized in a statewide sports journalists vote. The others were Devin Whitlock and Cole Weightman of Belle Vernon, Bobbie Boyd of McKeesport, Nick Bryan of Thomas Jefferson, Rodney Gallagher of Laurel Highlands and Lamont Payne of Chartiers Valley.



Justin Holmes, Northwestern Lehigh, 6-3, 215, sr.

Stone Saunders, Bishop McDevitt, 6-1, 175, fr.

Logan Klitsch, Conrad Weiser, 6-3, 190, sr.

Cooper Jordan, Bishop Shanahan, 5-10, 165, sr.

Devin Whitlock, Belle Vernon, 5-8, 170, sr.

To recover

Tiqwai Hayes, Aliquippa, 5-9, 170, fr.

Marquese Williams, Bishop McDevitt, 5-11, 185, jr.

Bobbie Boyd, McKeesport, 5-7, 170, jr.

Anthony Bourassa, Cocalico, 5-8, 180, sr.

Khalon Simmons, Meadville, 5-8, 180, jr.

Connor Hilling, Valley View, 5-9, 165, jr.

Wide receiver

Cayden Hess, Jersey Shore, 6-1, 205, sr.

Mario Easterly, Bishop McDevitt, 6-1, 175, sr.

Aanjay Feliciano, Conrad Weiser, 6-3, 180, sr.

Bryce Currier, Eastern York, 6-2, 180, sr.

Tight end

Adam Shovlin, Pittston area, 6-6, 245, therefore.

Offensive line

Naquan Crowder, Aliquippa, 6-4, 345, jr.

Justin Kanyuk, Catholic of Bethlehem, 6-7, 290, sr.

Tyrese Jones, Aliquippa, 6-7, 365, sr.

Nick Bryan, Thomas Jefferson, 6-3, 270, sr.

Nick Del Grande, Lampeter-Strasbourg, 6-4, 280, sr.

Tyler Swartz, Valley View, 6-2, 270, sr.


Rodney Gallagher, Laurel Highlands, 5-11, 170, jr.

Brady Jordan, Jersey Shore, 5-9, 160, jr.


Defensive line

Owen Ordonez, Lewisburg, 6-3, 225, sr.

Jason McBride, Aliquippa, 6-4, 325, jr.

Riley Robell, Bishop McDevitt, 6-3, 270, jr.

Lavon Johnson, Allentown CC, 6-4, 320, sr.

Cole Weightman, Belle Vernon, 6-3, 220, sr.

Dylan Jones, Bishop Shanahan, 6-3, 265, sr.


Haydn Packer, Jersey Shore, 5-10, 205, jr.

Brandon Choi, Bishop Shanahan, 6-3, 215, sr.

Ryan Russo, Bishop McDevitt, 6-2, 215, sr.

Cameron Lindsey, Aliquippa, 6-2, 210, so.

Defensive back

Donovan Walker, Aliquippa, 6-1, 180, jr.

Dray Wilk, Berwick, 5-11, 170, jr.

Teague Hoover, Selinsgrove, 5-10, 180, sr.

Brandon Banks, Aliquippa, 6-0, 172, so.

Lamont Payne, Vallée des Chartiers, 6-1, 174, jr.


Breck Miller, Jersey Shore, 6-0, 185, jr.

Walker Martin, Jardin Spot, 5-11, 170, sr.


Brandon Hile, Selinsgrove, 6-2, 205, sr.

Cyair Clark, Aliquippa, 5-8, 160, sr.

Kamil Foster, Bishop McDevitt, 6-0, 195, sr.

Player of the year

Tiqwai Hayes, Aliquippa

Coach of the Year

Mike Warfield, Aliquippa

• • •

Pennsylvania State Football Writers Team 2021

Class 6A (2 p.m. Wednesday)

Class 5A (noon Wednesday)

Class 4A

Class 3A

Class 2A

Class A

Chris Harlan is a staff writer for Tribune-Review. You can contact Chris by email at charlan@triblive.com or via Twitter .

Keywords: , Belle Vernon, Vallée des Chartiers, Laurel Highlands, McKeesport, Thomas Jefferson

Comments are closed.